The Romanesque heritage

The Vall de Boí’s Romanesque heritage is made up of the churches of Sant Climent and Santa Maria in Taüll, Sant Joan in Boí, Santa Eulàlia in Erill la Vall, Sant Feliu in Barruera, la Nativitat in Durro, Santa Maria in Cardet, l’Assumpció in Cóll and Sant Quirc Hermitage in Durro.
One of their main characteristics is the unity of architectural style. They were all built were during the 11th and 12th centuries following models from northern Italy, Lombard Romanesque, characterised by functional buildings, skilled stonework, slim bell-towers and the external decoration of rounded arcading and pilaster strips.
Of particular note are the murals that used to be found in the churches of Sant Climent and Santa Maria in Taüll and Sant Joan in Boí, currently kept at the National Museum of Catalan Art (MNAC) in Barcelona, as well as the carvings produced by the Erill Workshop, particularly the Descent in the church of Santa Eulàlia in Erill la Vall.
On 30 November 2000 the UNESCO recognized the uniqueness of this Romanesque concentration in a small space for such a large number of churches in the same architectural style preserved over time with few changes have significantly altered its initial conception, granting him the distinction of World Heritage Sites.

More information: Romanesque Centre of the Vall de Boí


 likes / 0 Comments
Share this post:

comment this post

Click on form to scroll


> <
Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec